Inofficial Feedback

As most should have seen by now, the games are not going to be rated by judges this year. I understand woogley’s decision on this, and I support it (even if I don’t like it). However, some people would like detailed feedback on their games instead of just anonymous voting, so I’m going to open this thread to give some detailed feedback for all games. I’ll have the next two weeks of and I wanted to take a close look at every game anyway, so this isn’t really any additional work.

Why should you be interested in the rantings of some random person you don’t even know?

You don’t. If you don’t like what I write, you are perfectly free to ignore this thread.

Who is this UlfJack guy anyway?

I’m a PhD student currently pursuing my PhD in northern germany, with occasional visits to the UK (where my wife-to-be does her PhD). I’ve studied computer science in Germany and the US. You can (or rather will be able to, cough cough) see my full vitae on my homepage: http://ulf.ofahrt.de/

I’m an avid gamer and have also written a couple of games of my own, Conquer-Space.net (http://www.conquer-space.net/) and submitted a 4k game (aichess4k).

How’s the rating going to work?

I start every game with a short summary. Then I give marks in the three categories graphics, technical, and gameplay. Marks range from 1 to 4, with 1 = lacking, 2 = good, 3 = very good, 4 = exceptional. I also add points or take points off for other things. I also give a short explanation of every mark I give. If I encounter technical problems, I give a description below that. Technical problems usually do not influence (or rather I’ll try not to let them) the games marks, except if it makes the game unplayable, as noted.

As far as I have seen, the games this year are all very high quality. However, don’t expect to get full points in all three categories. It’s a 4k contest after all, and such a small game will have to make a tradeoff between the three categories.