Games, learning and gamification

Hi,
I recently gave a little talk about games and learning in higher education and wanted to share the slides. I’m not an expert in this field but it’s something that I’ve been curious about for a long time.
The links to some of the youtube talks are interesting and should start at the best parts.
Would be great to hear your thoughts about games, learning and education.

http://www.keithwoodward.com/uni/MQ_BTC_GamificationTalk/GamificationSlides.pdf

Cheers,
Keith

2 Likes

Hey Keith, thanks for the slides!

I think that gamification is an interesting topic, and one that not many people truly analyze. Looking at some examples such as Duolingo really show how this concept has been grown. But I do think that there could be something to say on too much gamification. It may lead to either not taking something seriously, or making someone too competitive. Going back to Duolingo, I have heard that some polyglots dislike the app because the streak system incentivizes monotonous, bland practice over constantly challenging yourself. Focusing more on the game aspect rather than the learning can end up not actually helping you in the long run. On the other side, I could see how making something into a game increases competition, which may increase aggression or bitterness. While not a gigantic deal, I do think that it is something that could happen. But regardless, I think that offering a more fun experience to boring or mundane tasks are something that people on average would enjoy! Anything you find particularly interesting with the concept?

1 Like

Hi Josh,
Thanks for your reply!