which compiler (/IDE)?

Hi folks,

one simple question, which IDE do you use?

im a big newbie but experienced enough to think using notepad + sun’s tools sucks hard.

im using JBuilder 2007 (i think its from borland). Some friends told me not to use anything coming from borland coz they have plenty of bugs.

so far i only had some problems with things that wont repaint (both with setIngoreRepaint(true) and (false), but they work well when i export the app to jar.

so what do you advice?

this IDE is really good. it autocompletes my code, for example if a have a jframe object i can type:

myObject.

and as soon as i type the dot, a pop up window appears with all the possible functions i can access to with a short text explaining what the function does (what receives and what returns). so i can browse the functions with the arrow keys and hit enter when im done. (i use this a lot coz im a big newbie and still dont rembemer what each thing does, and some others times its helpful coz i learn a lot from there)

another cool thing is that if i rename something it changes all the required code to fit to the new name.

it also highlight variables and has a really good gui.

the only cons are that its 500mb big (thats a lot for a compiler let me tell ya) and it sucks 250mb of ram, maybe coz its constantly checking if there are errors in the code (it checks and highlight errors even before you compile the code, really usefull to spot errors on the fly). it also has a cool auto fix error (sometimes).

for example it includes libraries automatically or implements methods if needed (for example if you implement an interface).

i dont work for borland, its just what i like about that compiler (my old c/c++ compiler didnt do anything similar to this!), but maybe its just a java standard.

so what do you use/recommend?

see ya

Eclipse. If you’re coming from JBuilder, you might find NetBeans comfortable too.

Cas :slight_smile: