Using ClassLoader to make your game moddable

Have any of you tried this before? I’m wanting to toy around with using ClassLoader to let players load in custom dialogue trees for our game. I’m aware that you could use XML and similar solutions to do it, but I’m just experimenting with all avenues to see which one I think works the best for us specifically.

Anyway, so what I’m looking to do is actually pass in classes from the game (the textbox manager) and let the player call commands on it to make nested dialogue trees.

I.E.

textBoxRenderer.newTextBox(skyler, "Hello [[PLAYER]]!");

textBoxRenderer.newTextBoxOptionDeck(new TextBoxOptionDeck(
	"Mornin’",
	"Good morning beautiful.",
	"Oh... It’s you."
	){

snip
});

I’m interested to hear anyone’s stories on if they’ve tried this and how it went for them. One question I also have in particular is if you can actually limit what packages the class that’s loaded in is allowed to reference.

Hi SkyAphid,
I’m not an expert at classloaders, but I recieved some very interesting advice about trying to secure client submitted code in this thread where @Riven, @Roquen, @nsigma and @Abuse gave some very interesting pointers:

http://www.java-gaming.org/topics/java-s-built-in-scripting-engine/31183/msg/289552/view.html#msg289552

My skills were not up to the challenge to implement the AST or byte code injection solutions to try to secure arbitrary code, if that is even possible,. But I always thought that solving this problem would be a very interesting challenge with wider appeal than just games.
Many other people’s solutions to this problem appears to be to give the user some sort of hobbled, limited or otherwise sub optimal language or runtime such as JavaScript that can’t do much damage rather than Java or whatever the original language is.

I did try it in Revenge of the Titans, though I never documented it nor explained it to anyone :slight_smile:
Source code’s kicking about somewhere…

Cas :slight_smile: