Tutorial: stutter-free texture streaming with LWJGL

Introduction

Texture streaming is a very common feature in 3D engines today, and for good reasons. Texture streaming can provide some clear advantages for AAA games which have massive amounts of textures to deal with. The two most well-known advantages of streaming are:

• A streaming system can automatically keep only the necessary textures in memory to minimize the minimum VRAM requirements of any given scene, while still being able to utilize any left over VRAM as a cache by only unloading textures when necessary.
  • Reduced load times since the game can be played despite that the textures are still being loaded in.

Why should I care? I’m not an AAA developer!

It’s obvious that these two reasons alone are a good reason for a game with 20GBs of texture data to deal with, but admittedly indie games have much less resources to invest in texture variety. However, there are some less well-known advantages of streaming that can help you regardless of how many or how big your textures are. For example, reduced load times aren’t a big deal if you only need to load 10 different textures per in-game level, but what you might be overlooking is how texture streaming simplifies this loading. Texture streaming completely eliminates any manual texture management. Loading a new level? No need to check which textures are needed! Just change the level and your streaming system will automatically unload textures that are no longer used and stream in all required textures! Simply getting rid of manual texture management probably requires less code than implementing a streaming system!

A first attempt