Streaming two OGG files at the same time causes crackling

Hello guys.

I’m making a sound engine for my game, and so far, it’s been pretty easy and straight forward. Everything is working pretty well.

I use and load WAV files into memory and dispose of them later for sound effects, and for music I stream in OGG files with the OggInputStream class I found on this very site. I also use jorbis for loading in the sound.

Now, everything works, but when I stream two OGG’s at the same time, the sound crackles really bad. After doing some research on the internet, I found that people who use OpenAL in Objective-C had the same problem, and apparently solved it by changing how the buffers allocate memory. Of course, I’m completely unsure if such a fix is possible in Java. Neither do I know anything about Objective-C. I’m also fairly new to OpenAL, so a lot of this is pretty Alien to me.

Does anyone know anything about this? If you need more elaboration, please do just ask.

I don’t know a lot about the technologies you are using–I’ve used ogg & jorbis, and decided they were not for me. But they work for most people. However, I know a couple things about sound programming in general and maybe the following will help.

When you say crackle, does it seem to be related to a lot of starting and stopping, or are harsh sounds that are not on the originals playing?

If the first case, the code that is playing back probably is having trouble keeping current. Enlarging the buffers would help, but would also add to the latency. Usually with sound tracks (as opposed to cues for game play) latency is not such a big deal.

In the second case, the volumes from the two tracks could be overpowering the playback code. In this case, you would have to come up with a way to play back the cues at a lower volume. One possibility is to rerecord the cues at lower volumes before saving them as oggs. Another is to programmatically lower the playback volume and see if that helps.