Starting game development, need guidance?

I have made a couple of games on java swing then i figured out there is java graphics, graphics2d, graphics3d, libraries as well… Not sure swing is the right library for doing game development so I have been browsing the internet on what’s the best library that i could start game development on, i have heard people recommending libgdx as well and there is a low level library lwjgl which is also quite exciting with the prospects of opengl.
But please if anyone could suggest me about these java libraries such as graphics and swing and all comparative to lwjgl and libgdx?

I do like libgdx, I’m also fairly new at game development.

What I like with libgdx is that you write one set of code and it works on all devices (mostly).

The downside is that it’s not always clear how to use the functions of libgdx with just the javadocs, and so it’s probably less beginner friendly. It does have a helpful community, and the people on this site are mostly friendly and helpful too.

Just be patient, and start small and simple, you’ll learn more by making a 2d space invaders clone but made complete, with sound, animations, levels, menus, etc… than you will starting the latest mmmorpg and never getting past getting a player walking on the map.

The only way to find out which library you should use is to try out a few different libraries and see what you like best.

LibGDX is great, but you have to be pretty comfortable with programming, OOP, IDE setup, and looking up documentation and tutorials.

I also really like Processing, especially if you’re just starting out.

Just try a few things out and see what you like. Put together a little Hello World application, and feel free to ask specific questions if you get stuck. Good luck.