Solving Stuttering With Fixed Timesteps, Once and For All

Current solution: LWJGL + extra thread fix (downloads have not been updated with this fix)

Hello JGO! This is my first time posting here; I apologize in advance for any mistakes I make.

I’ve been using Game Maker for quite a while, but recently I learned some Java in college so I’ve been trying to make a game engine in Java (relying further on tutorials and various other sources). I want my engine to use fixed timesteps or some similar method (with graphical interpolation), and want it to be run in a window (or rather, to be capable of being run in either fullscreen or windowed mode as opposed to just one or the other), if possible. But, on some computers the graphics never get rendered as smoothly as, say, a GM game— moving images sometimes stutter. I realize that much has already been said on this topic, for example in the following links:

[quote]1) http://www.java-gaming.org/topics/game-loops/24220/view.html

1. http://www.java-gaming.org/topics/slight-jerkiness/24311/view.html

2. http://www.java-gaming.org/topics/player-sprite-just-doesnt-move-smooth/22762/view.html

3. http://www.java-gaming.org/topics/why-java-games-look-choppy-vertical-retrace/14696/view.html

4. http://www.java-gaming.org/index.php/topic,21086.

5. http://www.java-gaming.org/topics/why-java-games-look-choppy-vertical-retrace/14696/view.html

6. http://forums.create.msdn.com/forums/t/30892.aspx
    [/quote]
    But I feel like no conclusive solution has yet been discovered, so I’d like to try and consolidate all of the known information on this topic and start another, more language-specific discussion. I’ve been discussing this with some people over at TIGForums in this topic:

[quote]http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=22054.0

(Thank you to the many who helped, including Bryant Drew Jones, Chromanoid, J-Snake and Paul Eres!)
[/quote]