Simple API for JavaSound use

Hi all,
I’m currently writing a little game in java of course :wink:

At this time, i had completed the “game-logic” and i had started an UI implementation with Java2D.
At the end, i want to use an UI implementation with Slick, but doing it with Java2D force to me to preserve game-logic from the ui implementation and it’s a good exercice as well.

So, in this implementation, i’m starting to add some sounds on my game… and i’m a strong newbie on this domain.
When studying JavaSound, OpenAL, NativeFmodEx, … my first suprise is that all of theses API are low-level and we must manage I/O buffers, decoding streams, etc…

For my game, i have simple needs like:

• Reading compressed file format like OGG Vorbis
  • Playing multiples sounds at the same time that should be mixed inside the hardware
  • Playing mutiples times the same sound at the same time.
  • Doing fade-In fade-Out effect
  • Change speed playback of a sound. (it’s seems to be complex, and i’m not be able to implement it)

So, for theses simple needs, i’m writing a simple API upon JavaSound.
I know this API can’t fullfill more complex needs (like 3D sounds, sync, complex effects, …)
But in case it can help someone else, i put it here.

As i said, i’m a newbie in sound dev, and all remarks are welcome if it can improve this basis.
But i don’t want to make a full API with a billion of features !!!

Here an exemple of use:

// create a manager that will use a dedicated thread for perform I/O
        SoundManager manager  = new SoundManager();

// get a sound definition
        Sound        sound    = manager.getBufferedSound( getClass().getResource("/audio.ogg") );

// start a playback from the sound
        PlayBack     playback = sound.play();

Playback can be started at any times from any sounds and there I/O will be handled by the manager.

We can by example run a sound with a fade-in like it: