Programming Laptops

Ok so im in the market for a programming laptop and I’m having some trouble finding some. I was wondering if you could guys could help.

Criteria:

• must be able to perform programming tasks easily
  • preferably lightweight so I can take anywhere with ease
  • around $550
  • And it has to look really nice

Also, is the Intel core M powerful enough for programming?

Well… what kind of development? Graphics, neural nets, small scripts? Honestly there’s plenty of laptops that’ll work fine for any of those. I’m not really an expert on all the different ones out there, but I do know you have practically unlimited choices.

Just… please not a Mac…

Pros :

• Great AMD APU for the price
  • Backlit Keyboard for those night time ideas
  • Sleek Design

Cons:

• Resolution is not that great, but not that bad
  • Arrow key style (ew)

after reading this and the recent posts on ‘making games for nobody’, I’m fairly certain I’m the only person here who uses a mac :slight_smile:

Why not?

I’ve been using a macbook air almost exclusively for development for about a year or so now. It’s great. Then again I mostly do web development and devops these days so it’s not like I need a lot of juice.

The main reasons I got it (aside from portability) was battery life and the solid, comfortable keyboard/arm rest. Something other laptops, at least at the time, didn’t really compete with.

Although the 2015 line with the cord octopus strategy sounds like shit. The 13/14 models have been great.

shudder

I just can’t code on a laptop (for any length of time).

Need my multiple screens, my mechanical keyboard & super sensitive gaming mouse to get into the ‘zone’…

thinking about getting one of those too.

… coding games/graphics is never gonna be as good as on the desktop but i guess looking for “laptop with nvidia gtx 980m” is gonna be not bad.

did somebody try a gigabyte p35~ yet ? i’m afraid the gpu powerd laptops are more into fancy gaming then hacking with ease.