Particles: Basics to Advanced

So I am starting a series of tutorials not just on how to make a particle system but also on how to make good effects with a particle system.

Bare with me as I have never written a tutorial before and this starts out more geared towards beginners who have been scared of particles.

Now I can post it here like many of the other tutorials here if that is the way its done but I am not sure. So here it is.

Hope it helps.

Edit: Thanks for info Riven here is a java gaming version

Greetings!

Are you looking for a way to make your games explosions look like explosions? or maybe add some pizzazz to your boring Data-Base application? Well you’re in luck as I happen to know a whole lot about pizzazz. We are going to learn about particles in java. So we are going to make 2D particles as last time I checked java does not do 3D.

Note: If you are already know how to make a basic particle system but want to learn how to make particles look good and perform well, wait for later parts in the tutorial as I will cover more than moving dots across the screen.

So let’s get started!

Requirements:

basic programming skills
basic understanding of the java2D api (know what the Graphics object is)
basic understanding of swing/awt
An IDE such as Eclipse or some way of writing and compiling code
+ know something about game loops

What you get:

A working example of particles in action
Better understanding of what particles are and how they work
Better understanding of the swing/awt api
Better understanding of the java2D api