New Project: A Procedural Music API for Games

Hi there folks,

I’m an Open University student in the UK, and after too many years of study, I’m working on the final project for my degree. I’m aiming to develop an API and class library to make it easier for people to use procedurally generated, adaptive or generative music in games. I’m going to be implementing it in Java, and I’m just beginning the design process.

I’m here to try to do a bit of research with potential users of the system - this is an academic project, but ideally I’d like it to be something that’s actually useful for people, that I might be able to Open Source and release for use at some point in the future. In my searches, I’ve come across this thread, which suggests that there’s a demand for this sort of library, but it doesn’t look as if a library or API has come out of that project (correct me if I’m wrong?)

Rather than reinvent my existing description of what I’m working on, this is my problem statement from my project so far (apologies for the more formal than normal style, and references that don’t go anywhere from here):

[quote]Modern computer games are fully multimedia experiences, featuring high quality graphics, sound effects and soundtracks. Traditional music composition techniques can cause problems when used in game soundtracks for a variety of reasons, such as being unable to predict how long a player will be in a particular scene, or the music composed for a scene not matching the events in game at a particular time (Berndt et al., 2012). Procedural Music generation has been used since the 1980s to alleviate some of these issues (Collins, 2009). A variety of algorithms and techniques have been developed which allow music to be varied within given parameters, or generated and adapted based on events in the game (Berndt et al., 2012; Brown & Kerr 2009).