My current project

EDIT 1: 4/5/13

About me

Hi guys! You may have seen me around the forums recently, mainly on cool projects like State of Fortune & Isotroma.
A wee bit about me first:
I’m a 15 y.o from Auckland, New Zealand. I’ve been browsing these forums regularly since mid 2011, but it took me a while to be bothered making an account xD

Screenshots

Features:

• .obj file loading
  • Heightmaps
  • Texture loading
  • Dynamic input interpretation

TODO:

• Use VBOs
  • Finish lighting
  • Load chunks dynamically
  • Shaders

-bump-

I’ve implemented a better control-handling system and sorted the gameloop, now for collision detection.

When I was 15 years old, I read Dragonball and had bad grades in school. g I find it remarkable that you can be doing such things at that age. I wish I would have used my time better when I was 15. But it’s never too late to start, fortunately. 8)
And yes, I know that there are other young people doing stuff like this in this forum and even younger ones. :wink:

I am curious about what you will make out of your project. Let us know.

Heh, I’ve been interested in programming since a very young age. I was over the moon when my father started to teach me HTML at the age of 7 :stuck_out_tongue: I started toying with java/opengl maybe mid 2011, but project after project I’ve had some silly thing which has stopped me from getting anywhere. Now I’ve started again and actually got somewhere, it’s a massive morale boost. Luckily the failed projects has lead me to learn a lot, which I can now use :smiley:

And I think I want to get a better idea in my head of what I want to do before sharing it, but I’ll certainly write it down soon :smiley:
(but the idea has heavily influenced by Bastion, after playing that recently)

I love New Zealand. I lived there for five months once and it was a great time. I went through almost the whole country except Auckland lol