missing 3d-model (problem with OpenGL 4.4)

Hey folks,

i am pretty new to java and 3d rendering.
At work we encountered a problem, that the 3d model is missing after some time. We use AWT (abstract window toolkit) and Java3D in combination with OpenGL.
With the graphics card NVIDIA Quadro 400 supporting OpenGL 3.3 everything is fine. But with the Quadro 410 and 600 supporting OpenGL 4.4 the problem occures.

Switching to Direct3D solves this problem, but makes troubles with various side effects.

I saw the foward context for each and every version of OpenGL and so i wonder if i can select version 3.3 for the newer graphics cards. Is there a way to do so?
Maybe its enough to increase some memory option.

Please bother me for furter information!

Thanks in advance,
Magic

Hi

You’re still using Java3D 1.5 which is obsolete and unmaintained. Please switch to Java3D 1.6.0 pre 11. Follow these instructions.

Keep in mind that Java3D requires a backward compatible context. Your problem might come from the driver, please update it first before doing any deeper investigation.

You should rather ask your questions about Java3D on its official forum here.

Actually, YOU should provide a lot more information if you really want to get some help.

Best regards.

Thank you for your recommendations.

I already heard that Java3D is not longer officially supported. I will suggest that we switch to version 1.6.0-pre11. But we collaborate with an external partner, so it will take its time to get feedback about the impact. I will post a thread in the forum you mentioned, if the issue persists.

The latest graphics driver is already installed without success in this case.

If someone has further hints, please feel free to post them! Maybe its an OpenGL or memory issue, that can be fixed with the unmaintained version of Java3D.

You’re welcome.

Java3D is no longer officially supported by Oracle but it is still supported by the JogAmp community. We only maintain the very latest version.