Looking for where to Start with 2D games in Java. Help?

Hello, I’m new to this forum and I have looked around and it looks very helpful. I’m also rather new to java. Currently, I have taken an intro to Java course and learned basic Java syntax. I have (pretty much) mastered text based stuff, and would I’m interested in learning 2D graphics programming with Java. I just recently downloaded Eclipse and am playing with it as well. (Previously used BlueJ)

I was inspired by the game recently programmed by Mojang at the HumbleBundle.com Mojam, and I would like to learn to program games that are similar in looks. It’s called Catacomb Snatch, and you should be able to find screenshots on google. The graphics seem like they wouldn’t be too hard to code, but they released the source code, and after opening it with eclipse, it’s just WAY over my head. The biggest project I worked with using just text was a “Dungeons & Dragons” type text co-op adventure with 4 or 5 rooms (each a separate class), two playable characters (each a separate class), and 4 or 5 monsters (all from one class). This project ended up with only around 10 classes, plus a main class which housed the main method.

What I’m looking for I guess, is just where to start to go from a 10 class text game to a 20 class graphical 2D Shoot 'em up using lib, res, and src folders and files. That gap is where I’m stuck currently, and I’ve looked for a way to get across and haven’t found it.

P.S. In the one programming class I took, we made a PacMan game using Greenfoot towards the end of the year. It was terrible. Greenfoot took 2-5 minutes to load one world with 40 or so objects in it. I learned enough to accomplish a Shooter game in Greenfoot, but it would be slow, bulky and not nearly advanced as I would like. I’m looking to transition to more advanced programming, not simply improvise with the noob skills I have currently.

If you made it this far, thanks for reading my post and thanks in advance for the help! ;D