Looking for source code resources

I’m new to Java and LibGDX and find I learn well by examining source codes from games. I see a lot of platform games for LibGDX and a lot of overhead RGPs…but I want to make a top down shooter/rogue-like, and haven’t found many source codes for them…at least not in the last year or so.

Thanks.

1 Like

If you want to learn you better start at the LibGDX wiki and not by sifting through convoluted bodged-together hobby projects on github.

Also, literally the second thing you find when searching for “libgdx rpg site:github.com” on google already looks pretty damn polished and nice: https://github.com/mingli1/Unlucky

But that IS on Github? Also it’s an RPG but I said all the source codes I found so far were RPGs and platform games…?

You wanted to make a top down shooter right? Adding some shooting mechanics to a top down rpg is piss simple. The hard parts are map/asset loading/handling, menu transitions, save states and basically everything except spawning a bullet and doing some intersection testing.

[quote]But that IS on Github?
[/quote]
The repo i linked does most of what you would need for a top down shooter in a seemingly professional fashion and assets are included, if that doesn’t help you i don’t know what could.

LibGDX provides all the facilities to implement a top down shooter out of the box, circle/ray<->box/triangle/etc collision and all kinds of easy to use abstractions, just read the manual and get accustomed to the framework.

I wanted to do top-down shooter too ;D With LibGDX something like Alien Breed will be relatively easy, so yeah “just read the manual and get accustomed to the framework.”

Well it’s all hard in the beginning. I think you mean those parts are ‘harder’.

So there’s hope for github after all. :wink: