Looking for a speedy alterntive to getSubImage()

Hi All!,

Bit of a Java newbie here so please forgive my rather basic questions :slight_smile:

I’m writing a basic game engine in Java, and am now trying to optimise the way I handle images (best to start early, rather than get too dug-in, I think).

Currently, before the game loop starts I load in an image containing all of the tiles I want to use and store it in a BufferedImage object. The image is composed of 32x32 tiles.

Then, at render time, I make a call to a function that draws the level tiles. At present, it’s just all floor tiles - but I wanted to see what performance I’d be getting.

When drawing the tiles, I cycle through the tile map - a simple 2D array of objects - and work out whether they’ll be in the viewport. If so, I render them using the getSubImage(…) method of the BufferedImage class.

Here’s the level tile rendering block:

for (int y = 0; y < HEIGHT_IN_TILES; y++)
        {
            for (int x = 0; x < WIDTH_IN_TILES; x++)
            {
                // calculate the position of this tile
                double tileX = scrollX + (x * TILE_SIZE);
                double tileY = scrollY + (y * TILE_SIZE);
                double tileCX = tileX + (TILE_SIZE / 2);
                double tileCY = tileY + (TILE_SIZE / 2);

tileCX *= GameTest1.GAME_SCALE;
                tileCY *= GameTest1.GAME_SCALE;  

double halfTile = TILE_SIZE / 2;

// check if this is offscreen
                boolean canRender = false;

if (tileCX >= -(halfTile * GameTest1.GAME_SCALE) && 
                        tileCY >= -(halfTile * GameTest1.GAME_SCALE) && 
                        tileCX < (GameTest1.GAME_WIDTH + halfTile) * GameTest1.GAME_SCALE && 
                        tileCY < (GameTest1.GAME_HEIGHT + halfTile) * GameTest1.GAME_SCALE)
                {
                    canRender = true;
                }

if (canRender)
                {
                    tilesRendered++;