js4kgames - Potential successor to Java4K?

Hi all,

I’m hoping to attract the attention of anyone here that participated in the Java4K contest over the 12 or so years it was running, and also those that were fans but perhaps never participated. I never participated myself, but I was a big fan of the contest, going back to 2006 when I first noticed it. I knew the name Markus Persson through his Java4K entries long before he created Minecraft. I feel a bit embarrassed saying this but I didn’t realise who had created Minecraft until a couple of years ago! I was like “No way!”.

I was sad to see the Java4K contest end last year but understand why it did. I’m a Java dev with nearly 18 years experience now and I know that Java from the browser has been dying for a long time.

There were a few discussions last year about the possibility of a Javascript contest replacing Java4K. It was pointed out that there already exists a js1k contest, but that it differs quite a bit from the Java4K (not just with regards to the JS). If you’re not aware, there also a js13kgames contest that is a lot closer to what Java4K provided, but having watched it for a couple of years, I can see that 13K is a bit too much space to work with. 4K seems like a better limit.