Java Theremin

Hi again - I posted an “in progress” Theremin. Can try it here: http://www.hexara.com/VSL/JTheremin.htm

A real Theremin is a contraption that you play by waving your hands in the air over two metal bars – I’m not sure of how the electronics works – but one vector is pitch and the other is volume. The most famous uses are maybe in “Good Vibrations” by the Beach Boys, or in the soundtracks for “The Red Planet” or “The Day the Earth Stood Still”.

Biggest plus: the GUI is pretty dang responsive, if I say so myself, for a Swing Applet running sound, real time. I’m using the RTESmoother I presented in this post: http://www.java-gaming.org/index.php/topic,24605.0.html to capture and ship the mouse events evenly and smoothly to the inner buffer loops of the javax.sound.sampled SourceDataLine output.

This is my first attempt at wave-table synthesis. There are definitely some issues with the aliasing in the upper octaves of the square and sawtooth waves. I’m using wave table arrays of 720 floats. Maybe need more? I was thinking 2 per degree (360 * 2) and using linear interpolation, both between the samples when moving through at various rates and between the sine & other selected wave form, if you use an intermediate point on the slider.

Very fun to play around with!!!

Thanks for trying it out @ra4king! I’m happy to hear you enjoyed playing with it a bit.

Quote from: nsigma on another thread [quote]
Quote from: philfrei on 10 hours ago [quote]Crackly?! What does that mean? I am aware of something that I assumed was kind of like anti-aliasing in the high registers, especially the square wave. Is that what you mean? Crackly as a descriptor sounds much worse than that. Does the sine wave crackle, too? That is clear as a bell, over here.
[/quote]
The sine wave is actually the worst of the lot. Quite harsh discontinuities in the audio. Any chance you’ve got some out-of-range numbers in there somewhere? ALSA can be rather unforgiving with that.
[/quote]