Hi new here!

Hi,

I’m new here. I’m putting my Java game I’ve been working on for 3 years on Itch.io pretty soon.
I’ve been java-dev since jdk1.1. (1997? don’t remember).
Anybody else out there who has published a non-free Java game (anywhere)?
Just got on this site today because I was looking up using jpackage with JDK 12 on google and google gave a link to a post or article here.
I don’t know why I didn’t discover this site before but it’s been pretty isolated working on a Java game.
I send out a tweet once or twice looking for fellow Java game-devs with no response.
Anyway, just looking to get to know some other people who do/done this and exchange experiences.

Hi,

It is pretty difficult to publish a non-free Java game, personally, I prefer working on a free java game at home, just to rest from my work at the office. I have discovered this site months ago, and there is many interesting games, the best for me being “Naroth”. While being a C++ programmer at work, I find java to be very well suited for rapid game development, from an amateur point of view.

Hey!

Thanks for the reply. Did you publish anything written in Java. What’s particularly difficult about it? Or do you just mean difficult to get any sales? :slight_smile:

(I’m Replying from mosgrom2 because ‘mosgrom’ got locked when I set my email on my profile and it supposedly send an activation email which never arrived.)

Yes, I published “SimCar”, a small driving simulator that I wrote initially in C++ during the 90s, and then ported to Java. More recently, I published “Koin3D”, which is the java port of C++ library Coin3D. I plan to release a 3D game, “Mount Rainier Island”. You can find those projects on GitHub.

By difficult, I meant to have sales, there is so much indies games in the market. And also, if you use open source materials for your games, sometimes there is limitations in licences that keeps you from doing money with it.

Anyway, keep us informed of your current java game !