Hi - General project questions

I wasn’t quite sure where to put this, so, sorry.

Not really a noob here, just lost the password, anyway. I’ve done all the tutorials and now feel like I’m ready to start on a first real solo project.

Nothing too large scale, because I am working solo as a hobbyist, think something about the scale of FTL / pixel dungeon (at the wide end, starting much smaller scale and build to that).

At this stage, I got the base core mechanics of the action portion prototyped, using libgdx, blender (for art / animation), I was probably going to either find free music or go with sfxr (iirc), that’s a later concern. Really just aiming at about a SNES quality and look (but with advantage of HD).

tl;dr

When you started on the big project, what was the process you went through from start to finish? Specifically for the ones who did it all.

ex: program mechanics -> add enemies -> add weapons -> simple art -> test gameplay -> add maps, etc.

Appreciate any assistance / guidance.

Hi,
Looks like you’re going well with getting LibGDX setup already.

I find that there’s 3 stages to making a game:

1. Getting the basic features working like game mechanics, user interface and object heirarchy planned and working in a basic way with one level, one character and one weapon.

2. Filling the game with content such as levels, characters and weapons. Hopefully the game gets fun at some point in this stage. The graphics might still be placeholder artwork. Doing this stage before having step 1 working well can be a bummer if you need to change things in step 1 which makes all your content work in this step need massive refactoring.

3. Polishing all the features so they work as expected and look nice, with proper artwork.