FruityFrank - A game about a fruity adventure.

Hello guys!

I’m happy to announce that I’ve finally finished my platformer game that I’ve been working on for nearly 3 years now. Without occiasional development pauses and some better technology choices it probably would’ve taken around 1-2 years. For example, I wrote the level editor with a Swing GUI first, but then switched over to JavaFX. Also, a few months into the project, I wrote a custom ECS engine which also wasn’t necessary, as there are a few pretty good open source ECS libraries out there. Later, I decided to implement my own markup language (inspired by TreeML and JSON), a thing that also wasn’t necessary. These things probably cost me lots of motivation for the project. But now it’s finished, so that doesn’t matter anymore. :slight_smile:

The only library used is JavaFX/OpenJFX.

Description
Embark on the adventure of an apple called Frank, in a world full of living fruits.

The game is inspired by classic games like Mario, it even shares a main feature: The story is quite gentle, but the game gets really hard.

An indie game made using exclusively open source tools.

Feel free to leave feedback or report bugs in the comment section, it’s highly appreciated.

v0.4.8

Screenshots

https://img.itch.zone/aW1hZ2UvNDQzODk2LzIyNTEzMjUucG5n/original/11o%2B9N.png

Download on itch.io. Instructions are also there.

Have fun playing, feedback is welcome!

Cheers

@ mods: You can move this game to featured if you want to, as it fulfills the rules and it’s finished.

Took me a while to get it to run. I have JDK 12 installed but I also had JRE 8 installed, which apparently is the latest JRE version?
I thought this is what you should install if you want to run java programs, after all it’s the first result you get when you google “java download” so why is the version so old? Odd.
Anyways, now I know that the JDK includes its very own runtime environment and you don’t need JRE at all, you learn something new everyday.