First time pixel artist

Hello!

I’m currently developing a village simulator for iOS - I’m a programmer and have just started doing pixel art a few weeks ago.

I drew everything so far and would like some feedback on the screenshot - particularly in the building. I would love help with knowing what looks good and what doesn’t (talking purely art, ignore UI).Thank you!

Well, it’s already better than my pixel art :stuck_out_tongue:

Cas :slight_smile:

Looks great, particularly considering you’ve just started. Only one negative comment - decide where the sun is! :wink:

Yup! In particular, I think the shadow of the cactus is off - is everything else fine?

Keep in mind I’m not done yet and the empty wall of the building will be filled!

Much better than anything I could ever hope to do.

Thank you for all your support! I’m surprised, too, as I’m a programer who has always ignored art.

This is purely from the standpoint of someone who enjoys their straight lines & hard corners: the window on the left of the building looks a little off. Other than that, I actually find myself enjoying the setup you have going here!

If I might make a suggestion (it certainly made sense and helped me when someone pointed it out) I learned how to use Blender for incredibly basic stuff, and it really helped me to start drawing things with accurate perspective. Maybe something like that can also help you along?

In any case, fine work there, chief.

Hello!

Thank you for the suggestions! I think the window looks off because of the shadows below it but I’m going to work on it.

The game is over a month in production is close to a playable state! Will post updates as they come :slight_smile:

• Jake

To me, the building, person and bushes have the sun almost straight ahead; the cacti and two of the trees have the sun coming from the left; and one of the trees has the sun from 45 degrees (between left and ahead). Everything with the shadow at 45 degrees might look better?