exploration rpg

Here’s a gif of an early wip project.

project emphasis on:

1. fast-paced mobility,
  2. using crafted rather than random-drop item & gear,
  3. crafting involves choices, rather than a linear progression of X is better than Y in all aspects,

All feedback greatly appreciated

Given there are no textures, and cubes have a bunch of sharp 90deg edges, I’ve implemented a simple antialiasing solution
Anti-alias off:

Anti-alias on:

Looks cool, it drops off from a standard minecraft-like look to a cartoon rendered at a distance.
I like it.

i’m not an artist :frowning: but i’ve implemented support for different models (and animation though the only animation currently is the head moving up and down for the green quadruped.

bug model and animation. i’m proud and ashamed at the same time :), it’s my best model yet, yet it’s horrible :slight_smile:
(model inspiration credit http://forum.iridiumbased.com/threads/texture-progress.373/)

my next step is to make these models read from a .txt file. Currently, creating the bug model is done with code that looks like

http://pastebin.java-gaming.org/924794c515816

This is what kind of format i’m considering. If anyone has experience with this and has suggestions so i don’t look back at this 1 month later and regret using this format, please share :slight_smile: The main downside i thinking this will have is that if i leave it as code, I can add helper methods such as head.translateFrontOf(body), eyeL.translateLeftOf(head).shiftForward(1) and such, whereas with .txt files I don’t imagine similar utility.

http://pastebin.java-gaming.org/2479c51585611

added a new mech model

as for converting to .txt format, i’ve decided not to; there’s too much utility that helper functions can provide and not really any benefit to using an external format if i’m not using some other modeling tool to create the models.