Career advice

Hi friends, I’m posting in JGO after a long while today. I’m in my final year of my college and had spent the last two months attending interviews. I’m posting this today because I’m in a dilemma and I need a career advice from someone experienced.

My first interview was in an MNC, which had 60 years of industry experience. I was asked questions on Assembly programming there and I cracked it. However, two things I’m concerned are the pay package and the available projects; they are offering me 3.36 as the package, which is half of my father’s current pay (he earns 7 per annum).

My second one was a startup, which was founded in 2012, and they held the interview on purely technical rounds. I cracked it too, and apart from a job, they asked me to join early for a mandatory student internship in the next semester. The package is much higher here, they initially offered me a package of 8 per annum, and said that depending on my performance in the internship they might increase it to 12.

I’m not thinking only in terms of salary, but also in terms of the projects that I’ll be working on; the big MNC is a service based one, and mostly works with low level technologies and databases. The new startup is a national payment gateway in India, and it’s major client is the reserve bank. The Technology they are using is PureScript which is a functional language.

Regarding company size, the MNC has got 3,86,000 employees while the startup had got less than a hundred employees.

Now I’m in a dilemma. What factors should I be considering as a fresher?

The startup will be more fun. And it offers loads more money. It’s a no-brainer.

Cas :slight_smile:

I agree with Princec here. Definitely the start up. But also the fact that you have both of those options is pretty cool in my opinion.

Go with the Startup. It won’t be your last job anyway, so no need for doing a safe bet on a big company…

First off, I’d like to add my congratulations!