Best place to start java2d game

I’ve had a lot of experience with java, and have even started working with 3D game development with jPCT, but I have a new game idea that I want to use the built-in java2d functions for. I don’t have any experience with this library yet, and I’m getting lost with all these things like frame and canvas and component and awt vs swing. Here’s my question: where’s the best place to begin to start getting images to appear in a window? Once I have that, I can use my sprite animations (that I have already drawn) to animate the game.

Any help is appreciated.

Welcome to JGO!

This forum is littered with examples of how to use JFrame + Canvas + BufferStrategy. Here is a Google-Fu search trick for all related posts.

You load images using javax.imageio.ImageIO.read(URL), and you get the URL of a file using .class.getClassLoader().getResource(String).

After getting a BufferedImage from ImageIO, you should make them compatible with the graphics mode (look at line 102).

Finally, you should then learn how to use Graphics2D (what use you to draw everything) using the official Sun (Oracle now) tutorials.

Here’s an example of my game loop.

Good luck!! ;D

Well, just to throw this out there…Java2d isn’t all that great. Although, you can use it if you really want too.

The easiest set up I would to use, was to initialize a Jframe, then using simple double buffering along with graphics2d.
So, initialize the game window like this, usually these are in constructors of your core class:

JFrame container = new JFrame("Your Game"); //This creates the frame object, and sets the window name.
		JPanel panel = (JPanel) container.getContentPane(); //This initializes the panel, which in our case is just for setting the size of the window..
		panel.setPreferredSize(new Dimension(800, 600)); //Dimensions

setBounds(0,0,800+16,600+16); //Window bounds, how big the drawing part is, essentially.
		panel.add(this); //Then, implement it.