Android and the market

Hyas all…

I am a Java architect and developer, certified, and I am studying Android with OpenGL ES by myself.

I have made a full game, posted it at Google Play, and the goal of this project was to learn and to practice, not to sell loads, once it is a Tetris…:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=br.com.ww.games.tesserix

(I am NOT making advertising here, just giving a hint about the programming level I am currently at with Android and OpenGL ES)

Well, it is internationalized (even its description at Google Play), and it features nice tricks, like multitouch controls and OpenGL ES 1.0 (2D, using ortographic projection). It does haves a few minor bugs, for example the synchronization between the game thread and the OpenGL thread is not perfect causing rare non-critical screening issues…

The subject here is: I want to develop for the market, to make a living out of this. As a mature experienced Java developer (and computer scientist) I know I am up to the challenge. Still, I need ideas about budget for this. I intend to make “fun to develop, fun to play games”, cheap, my goal is not to become trillionaire with it, just live well by doing what I love. AND developing nice smooth games, not rough ones…

I am not sure what is the best strategy for achieving this… I am currently considering financing a kickstart with banks in order for living at least an year with this budget and put full dedication into my first projects (along with a friend of mine), and pay it already with the incoming, as well as keep my work with the profit earned, but I am unsure about the risk involved. I am braziliam, then probably it is not precisely the same laws, taxes, costs involved, but as we are thinking about the idea here the conditions are not an issue to the subject.