Alienz 4K

My first ever entry into the 4K comp :slight_smile:

Try it out and lemme know what you think:
http://hsaka.webs.com/alienz4k/webstart/alienz4k.jnlp

If ya need some instructions, check out my page at Java4K:
http://www.java4k.com/index.php?action=games&method=view&gid=228

Looks good.

Why does it have to be a signed application though?

Dmitri

Exactly what I was going to ask.

Well, the thing is I’m new to this whole webstart business, and so I followed the tutorial by Kevin Glass which states:

[quote]The final important thing to note about the Jars you distribute is that they must all be signed.
[/quote]
So I’m assuming then that it need not be signed? :-\

Don’t know about the normal scores.
But just with randomly clicks (as i hadn’t read the instructions) i got 1.231.150 Points woohoo I Like it ;D

Most people like to see big numbers :wink:

Thanks for playing :slight_smile:

Mine isn’t. It runs. You should only need to sign it if you’re doing something which requires you to step outside the sandbox - e.g. accessing the network or the filesystem. There’s very little need to do that in a 4k Java game.

Ok now after reading instructions. It don’t worked as i understood it. Maybe it’s just as english is not my natural language ;D
So just as a hint for the instructions, as i now seem to understood the rules:
You should make it more obvious that all alienz with the correct row/column-amount are removed.

Edit: I wanna have a highscore-list ;D Level39 with 12.3Mio Points.

please remove this game, i can’t stop playing…

The webstart tutorial assumes you’re using natives, JOGL in the case of the astroprime example. To use natives, you need signing.

Kev

@kevglass Ah I see. Thanks for clearing that up for me. I got a little nervous after seeing my jar size shoot up to 6K after signing lol.

@toasten Yes you’re right, I forgot to mention that part in the instructions. Thanks.
:o 12.3mil!!.. Good Job! ;D