Ads on Android

Anyone has experience with advertisements in Android games? I am working on enabling ads from admob.com - chose them because they seem like the most established provider with the most accessible technical framework. If anyone else has played around with ads I would love to hear about your experiences!

I’ve been developing apps and games for Android for about six months now, with a mixture of strategies, e.g. paid-only versions, free versions with ads, in-game nags for paid versions, etc.

http://polyclefsoftware.com/android.htm

I’ve used AdMob for all my ads, primarily because it seems to be the only game in town for Android. I’ve signed up for AdSense’s mobile beta program, but have gotten no reply.

I’m not getting rich from Android development (and from what I hear nobody is right now). But I’ve posted some figures on my blog, which you can find from my business website. Basically I’m making about $300-400/month on all my apps combined, and just about half of that revenue comes from ads.

Integrating the ads into apps with AdMob is relatively easy. If you can’t get questions answered from FAQs or online resources, shoot me an email. Unfortunately, the way I implement them in most games is likely not optimal. I serve up ads in dialog boxes between parts of games (e.g. hands in card games). People are often curious, but then get habituated to just dismissing the ad dialogue. Just as with sales, I get an initial spike in clicks, and a steep fall-off after about a week. At its peak, my ad revenue driven by my Spades game was over $20/day. I haven’t released a game lately because I spent the summer working on an entry for the ADC II, so these days my ad revenue is in the $2-3/day range.

But my next project is focusing on multiplayer, and I plan on implementing ads in a hopefully more natural way that will lead to steady click-throughs.

If you have any more questions about my experiences, let me know.

martin / polycleaf ,